I'm coming to the realization that my perception is changing, and I can't say I'm entirely comfortable with it. Despite my heaping helping of brains I have always had trouble with the concept of following a process and paying attention to it, rather than the product, thereby letting the product come by itself. So here I am, having been challenged to eat and exercise differently for long enough to see a different and better result. And that's what's happening. I don't know what to do with it except try to push on and hold tight to that which brought me here. I've experienced that with Christianity and recovery from alcoholism as well as in my writing career, and now it's happening with exercise. The more I stick to it, doing my best, the more I get out of it.
John and Cheryl, the trainers at Crossfit, have been promising this would happen to me if I stuck to it long enough. I can do more than I once thought. I feel better than I thought I'd feel. It's all becoming different. I expect to give out and lose energy and it doesn't happen when I expect, so I have to work harder and I still do okay. My reaction to the new reality and my adjustment to the new attitude are exciting but shake me to the core. Change and growth are painful to some degree at least, and I'm experiencing that. It's becoming harder to question what I'm doing. Whining is no longer an option, it seems. I can only press on, and so that's what I do.
I didn't just start doing this. I've been working at Crossfit since last July, and started struggling with this paleo eating a few months later. Heck, for years I've been reaching for what I'm now getting. Now it's all coming together and I'm rocking the gym. I've come far and it never ends--it just changes. I feel funky here and there throughout the day, and it makes me wonder if there's something wrong with me... and there may be something wrong, but there may insteadbe something right that was previously wrong, and I just don't know anymore. We'll see as we go along. I haven't died yet.
Also, I'm definitely going to drop my water intake somewhat. I can't remember exactly what my Crossfit trainers said regarding water intake, but I want to be more conscious of it. My way is easier but I'd like to do better. I've researched hypernatremia (water intoxication) and I'm not worried about that so much, I'd just like to be sure that I'm drinking enough and have that be the end of it.
Menu:
Breakfast (4 blocks)
- 2 cups strawberries, 1/2 cup blackberries, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1-1/2 tsp. olive oil, 2 oz. cheddar cheese
Late Morning Snack (1 block)
- 1/3 cup grapes, 1 string cheese stick, 3 nuts
Recovery Snack (2 blocks)
- 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup blackberries, 1 tsp. almond butter
Lunch (5 blocks)
- 3 cups fry mix, 1 tbsp c-raisins, 1 small apple, 10g chopped nuts, 1 tsp. olive oil
- 3 oz chicken, 1.5 oz. shrimp, 1 egg
Late Afternoon Snack (2 blocks)
- 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1 small apple, 1 tbsp c-raisins, 10 g chopped nuts
Another Snack (2 blocks)
- 2/3 cup cooked onions and a small pile of c-raisins, 6 nuts, 1 oz. cheese, 1 HB egg
Dinner (4 blocks)
- 3 cups fry mix, 1 tbsp c-raisins, 1 tsp butter, 10g chopped nuts, 1.5 oz. shrimp, 2 ox. chicken, 1 egg
Total water consumption: 9+ quarts throughout the day, including coffee
God is good. I've managed to survive another day of growth. Fruit, nut, and dried fruit intake today was higher than I'd like but it seemed necessary in the planning. I'm a block over on the day, too, but I've been ravenous all day. Based on the rules and all that, my total points for the day: 0
Total points so far: 0
No comments:
Post a Comment